Original Boundaries of Yorkshire


Association of British Counties Map of Yorkshire. Published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 UK

On a map of Yorkshire from the Domesday book the ‘county’ was a significantly larger region taking in parts of Cumberland Westmoreland and Lancashire.

Yorkshire stretched from Hull in the East Ridings to Sedburgh in the north West.

Lost parts of Yorkshire

Yorkshire’s boundaries were changed in 1974. It abolished the shires and implemented the much disliked new county’s of Humberside (east Ridings).

Some parts of Yorkshire were given away to:

  • Cumbria – Sedburgh district
  • Durham – Stratforth district
  • Lancashire (shame!) – Bowland, Barnoldswick, Earby.

Instead of the Ridings, Yorkshire was split into North, South and West. There was no East Yorkshire except the disgrace of Humberside!

This entry was posted in Our Yorkshire. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Original Boundaries of Yorkshire

  1. Pingback: Yorkshire Independence Movement « Yorkshire - God’s Own County

  2. lee954 says:

    The county though did gain small areas of land in the south from Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire.

  3. Pingback: Yorkshire Independence Party | Yorkshire - God's Own County

  4. Nigel Sollitt says:

    Actually, going back further to before Doomsday, Yorkshire’s boundary went from the east coast to the west coast and what we now call Lancashire was just part of Yorkshire! I think that probably too much time has passed, too many roses matches have been played and too many references to the wars of the roses have been heard to expect those we now call Lancastrians to have the faintest remnants of Yorkshire patriotism but if any do, I would accept them on that basis. As for those that do not, the majority I anticipate, we should costantly remind them that there county was born of ours!

    • brian says:

      I agree and have a map published as a replica of the Doomsday book to show to Lancastrians I come across. Strangely they do not seem interested or convinced.

  5. Pingback: Yorkshire Tea Towel | Yorkshire - God's Own County

  6. Michael Pulford says:

    Dont forget Saddleworth as part of the Oldham council which was formerly part of the dreadful and thankfully deceased Greater Manchester. By the way its Sedbergh and of course Sedbergh and the lovely Dentdale in its entirety have services provided by Cumbria. I prefer not to say they are part of Cumbria. Same for all the other places mentioned. By the way Middlesbrough, Redcar, Saltburn, Yarm Thornaby etc from the equally dreadul Cleveland County, again thankfully deceased, have their own distritc councils and areconsiderd to be ceremonially part of north Yorkshire County Counci, a curious onel.

  7. Pingback: Yorkshire Tea Towel - God's Own County

  8. Pingback: - God's Own County